PDA

View Full Version : KU Rebuilding project: Former KU guard Jeff Hawkins enjoying challenge in first year as

royr17
12-25-2010, 01:50 AM
http://www2.kusports.com/news/2010/dec/25/rebuilding-project-former-ku-guard-jeff-hawkins-en/?mens_basketball

Rebuilding project: Former KU guard Jeff Hawkins enjoying challenge in first year as prep head coach
By : Ben Ward

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

After his playing days were over, the desire to coach was, at first, only natural for Jeff Hawkins.

Hawkins, who played point guard at Kansas University from 2002-2006, looked at coaching as the next-closest option to still being on the court.

But last year, where Hawkins was a first-year assistant coach at Ellis High School, the wins — and the excitement — began to build. Thoughts like, “how would I do if I was a head coach?” kept popping into his head.

Still, he was considering staying on as an assistant at Ellis, until Perry-Lecompton principal J.B. Elliot called Hawkins with interest on hiring him on as head coach.

“Once (he) said that, it just kind of switched my whole mind-set,” Hawkins said. “Like ‘OK, I know I’m ready.’ I just wanted to put both feet in this coaching and run wild with it.”

Nearly halfway through his first year on the job, Hawkins and the Kaws — who finished 2-19 last season — are off to a 0-6 start, but Hawkins has admired the way his team has improved since the start of the season and says it’s making strides in the right direction.

“It’s kind of a learning process both ways,” Hawkins said. “We’re in the process of rebuilding the program, and the kids are in the process of having a new coach and learning a new system. I might have a bit more grey hair than I did last year as an assistant coach, but overall the transition has gone well.”

It doesn’t hurt that the kids are taking tips from a guy like Hawkins, who played in 113 games during his KU career.