PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Teicher: Chiefs center Casey Wiegmann doesn't want to see his streak snapped

Tribal Warfare
08-07-2011, 11:54 PM
Chiefs center Casey Wiegmann doesn't want to see his streak snapped (http://www.kansascity.com/2011/08/07/3063145/chiefs-center-casey-wiegmann-looks.html)
By ADAM TEICHER
The Kansas City Star

ST. JOSEPH | By the time Ryan Lilja first joined the Chiefs in 2004, Casey Wiegmann’s NFL career was already something for a rookie offensive lineman to view with wonder.

Wiegmann had already put together an impressive career for an undrafted and undersized center out of Iowa. So imagine Lilja’s awe now. Wiegmann is 38 and still going strong, about to begin his 16th NFL season with a consecutive offensive-play streak of 10,141 dating to early 2001.

“He was an old-timer when I was a rookie,” Lilja said. “He’s one of the wonders of the world.”

Wiegmann may be one of the wonders of the football world, but he’s no museum piece. One of the first moves made by the Chiefs once the free-agent signing period began was to sign Wiegmann to a new contract.

He will, assuming he makes it through the preseason unharmed, start at center for the Chiefs on Sept. 11, when they open the regular season against Buffalo at Arrowhead Stadium. Coach Todd Haley wouldn’t have it any other way.

“There’s nobody more excited about Casey’s decision to come back and continue being a part of what he was such a big part of last year,” Haley said. “You don’t do what he’s done for as long as he’s done it by accident. He knows how to do it, he knows what to do.”

For that reason, Haley will use Wiegmann as a museum piece, or at least a teaching tool for his younger teammates.

“This group of (players) we have, you make sure occasionally that you say, ‘Take a look at (Wiegmann).’ ” Haley said. “He wrote the book on how to have a great career, so I’d be trying to do most of the things he’s doing.