PDA

View Full Version : Life Question about continuing education

Hydrae
09-16-2011, 06:46 AM
My wife finished her associate's degree as a paralegal this week. I am very proud of her and I don't know that it has sunk in for her that she completed it despite her mother always telling her she would never accomplish anything.

Now she is looking at going on for a bachelor's degree. However, she is unsure about where to go. She just finished at Virginia College and can continue all the way through a masters there through online courses. She is also looking at a couple of other online schools (she is kind of leaning towards Strayer) but wants to know if changing schools at this point would be seen as a negative. It might be possible for her to attend a ground school but it would be easier going online at this point as we are both hoping she can get a job finally (it has been 4 years).

I have no experience to answer this question and figured our diverse group here could give some insight.

TimeForWasp
09-16-2011, 06:54 AM
Congratulations.

DaKCMan AP
09-16-2011, 06:55 AM
Changing schools would not be looked down upon at all.

If you live in Austin, why doesn't she look at UT? It's a great school and they probably have some online degree programs.

DaKCMan AP
09-16-2011, 06:56 AM

If you live in Austin, why doesn't she look at UT? It's a great school and they probably have some online degree programs.

Yep, UT offers online programs: http://www.utexas.edu/ce/uex/

Hydrae
09-16-2011, 07:01 AM

Honestly had not thought of that. Getting into the ground school can be difficult but did not think about whether they had online courses. I will have to take a look and see if they have anything along the lines of her plans as a Paralegal.

Otter
09-16-2011, 07:03 AM