PDA

View Full Version : Football NE coach Belichick planted seeds of success in Cleveland

tk13
02-05-2012, 02:49 PM
Great article about Belichick's time in Cleveland... you can definitely see the outline of what Pioli brought to KC here.

http://www.cleveland.com/browns/index.ssf/2012/02/new_england_patriots_coach_bil.html

New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick planted seeds of success with Browns in Cleveland
Published: Saturday, February 04, 2012, 12:13 AM
Mary Kay Cabot, The Plain Dealer By Mary Kay Cabot

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Covering Bill Belichick in the Super Bowl here this week transports me back to the five years I covered him in Cleveland (1991-95).

They were some of the most difficult years of my life -- and some of the most rewarding.

Belichick was a first-time head coach, and I was a first-time Browns beat writer. We both made plenty of mistakes, but we both learned a lot during those years.

If you can survive covering Belichick your first time up, you can handle almost anything on a beat. In fact, the writers during those years bonded through our adversity and still laugh about it.

There was the time Ed Meyer from the Akron Beacon Journal tried to get to the bottom of why Belichick replaced the outdoor fields in Berea at a cost of about $500,000.

Supposedly, the fields had been flooding and couldn't be used for days.

Meyer asked Belichick, "What happens to the fields when it rains?"

Belichick paused for a moment and replied, "They get wet."

Dead silence.

None of us could look up from our notebooks or we would've burst out laughing. Happened all the time. Ask a stupid question (we immediately discovered there is such a thing) and you'd get nailed.

When Belichick first arrived in Cleveland, he cared about his relationship with the media and his image. But he quickly realized the honeymoon was over, and the five-year battle was on.

Still, Belichick tried hard to get along with me, and vice versa.