PDA

View Full Version : Life I got "doored" on my bike.

TinyEvel
03-22-2012, 09:40 AM
Let me start by saying I am a cyclist. I have been riding road bikes for 25 years, and I have very good control of the bike and road vision.

Three weeks ago I was riding in a painted bike lane on the right side of the traffic lane when a parked car opened a door right in front of me.
This is every cyclists worse nightmare. I've had some close calls but I am aways pretty alert. I was riding with two other guys who were about two bike lengths in front of me, and the door opened so fast it happened behind the guy in front of me but hit me.

I went through the door, over it, and landed in the street on my left shoulder and face. I immediately scooched to the edge of the road, laid on my back and asked them to call 911.

I had a gash in my eyebrow but the rest of me was just lightly scraped. Big issue was, the top of my humerus (upper arm bone) the ball was crushed and snapped clean off and wedged sideways into the socket.

Needless to say it was painful.

I've had surgery with a rod down the middle of my bone. I'm three weeks post-op. I'm trying to cycle off my pain meds and I was up all night, can't sleep because it hurts so much. Just really uncomfortable. It sucks because I use my brain for my job, requires deep thinking and it's tough to concentrate.

I wasn't ever going to post anything on here about it, but maybe some of you guys have had bad accidents/surgeries and have fully recovered, I could just use some cheering up to know that it will take time and I will be alright. Also, please look in your rear view before opening a car door when parked at a curb.

Cycling is my life. Right now I just feel lame and like I'll never be at peace or know the joy of the free road again.

TE

DJ's left nut
03-22-2012, 09:43 AM
Damn - sorry to hear that, E.