PDA

View Full Version : Life Vyvance-Adderall-ADD

rico
07-24-2012, 12:59 PM
Some of you may know that I made the financially irresponsible decision to major in Psychology at a private college. I now owe 90k in student loans and have a degree in Psychology to show for it. The Psychology degree is nice to have, it opens the doors for me if I want to sell insurance, sell cars, etc. It is also nice to have if I ever have aspirations of starting my own business (according to some Google articles anyways). However, if you want to use it for what it is the most relevant to, which is the Human Services field, the field that I have been working in for almost 5 years, then well....it is pretty financially freaking difficult to pay 90k worth of student loans, own a house, be a loving father/fiancee and refrain from calling my dad begging money simultaenously.

With that said, I am attending nursing school on the 20th of August. I figured the BA in Psych and the RN would complement each other well and I may succeed in that field.

A couple months ago, I requested 2 and a half weeks off of work (I never, EVER take PTO because I always feel like the place becomes chaotic when I'm not there). My original plans were to go on leave on July 17th and come back on Monday the 6th of August (14 days before school starts) and put my 2 weeks notice in immediately when I came back to work. However, since I've been off work, I have had time to sit down and think about things in terms of what is best for my future. I have decided that I am going to try going to school AND maintain employment at my current employer for as long as possible. My fiancee is not going to be pleased because my job is very time consuming. I am a salaried employee and I feel that my "salaried employee" status is consistently milked to the fullest extent.