PDA

View Full Version : Life For the IT guys, which job should I take?

MahiMike
07-08-2015, 02:22 PM
I know there are several of us IT guys on the Planet here. I have a big decision to make and went to the place with the most insight into these things.

Basically I have to decide between 2 jobs.

Job A - my current job. Work from home as a Capacity Planning Analyst for a large bank. I'm a relative newbie to this position and after 6 mos am finally becoming productive. My boss and team lead are so busy (and disorganized) that they never have time for me. I'm getting little training and the workload is increasing each week. The main reason I looked for other opportunities was due to our company's penchant for the annual purge. I worked happily for 4 years in a development role until the last shakeup. Luckily I was 'traded' to this group.
Not sure if any of you are capacity planners but my job is to tell architects and engineers how much horse power they'll need for their new applications. We're talking up to 200 servers per app. Banks have a lot of cheese.

Job B - Level 2/3 support for another large bank. My title would be an AVP, managing a small team. They are looking for someone to groom to move up into management. I'd be responsible for moving a team of folks from China back to the U.S.! (fuck Walmart). This would be a fairly stressful, high volume position but if I can do it for a couple years, moving up in the company would be an option. 2 things that sucks about it are the hours (10 a.m. to 7 p.m.) and the fact that I can't work from home. The big plus here is that it's an 18% pay increase.

Background - I'll be 55 in a few months. These decisions are made more difficult once you get this old.

What do you guys think? Which one looks better?

Thanks

Saul Good
07-08-2015, 02:31 PM
How many hours do you currently work?

eDave
07-08-2015, 02:35 PM
18% is a nice increase. However, how much of that gets chewed up in commuting gas, lunch out, etc?