PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Justin Houston’s last year in KC?

kcbubb
09-21-2018, 08:41 AM
I’m not an expert on these contracts, but could it be Houston’s last year here? His production has been awful and with two games this year with big leads and lots of down the field pass attempts by opposing QBs, Houston has no sacks. I think he has less sacks in the last 50 or so games than he did in the year before his contract, the big year with 22 sacks. His cap hit will decline dramatically next year. He might be gone. As a general rule, I think the chiefs should limit these large 2nd contracts. The motivation just isn’t there. The raiders were right to trade Khalil Mack. Here’s the info on Houston’s contract. Let’s hope Houston turns it around. We need him for a playoff run but if he doesn’t increase production, I think he’s gone.

https://www.spotrac.com/nfl/kansas-city-chiefs/justin-houston-7789/

TambaBerry
09-21-2018, 08:46 AM
another stupid opinion on Houston lol

Fish
09-21-2018, 08:47 AM
LOL, no.

TEX
09-21-2018, 08:48 AM

Stupid? He's made some points. Maybe he's still here next year, but its not foolish to be looking down the road sooner rather than later with Houston. The production isnt there to justify the contract. Unless that changes, he's not gonna stick around for its duration... :shrug:

kcbubb
09-21-2018, 08:53 AM
http://www.nfl.com/player/justinhouston/2495493/careerstats

2018 0
2017 9.5
2016 4
2015 7.5

I wouldn’t pay $15,000,000 for that kind of production with a $21,000,000 cap hit. And he’s not getting any younger. Father Time is working against him as well. Our defense needs his pass rush desperately. I hope he delivers but he’s sucked thus far this year.

chiefzilla1501
09-21-2018, 08:56 AM
They will undoubtedly restructure. This offseason is the perfect time to do it. It's a win for both the Chiefs and Houston. Houston would rather get paid less for a protected contract.

OKchiefs
09-21-2018, 08:57 AM