PDA

View Full Version : Life The cost of being extroverted.

Rain Man
03-16-2021, 04:02 PM
I decided to work in my dining room today, so I was busily hunting and pecking on my laptop. My wife had some people over to do some housecleaning work, and I heard them come in.

Two of them went upstairs, and suddenly a guy appeared in my dining room. He said that he was just admiring our home decor, talked at me nonstop for five minutes about our furniture and art while I said nary a word, and then wandered off.

At that point my wife came downstairs, and he went into the living room to talk to her. I idly listened, and then at one point he said, "I'm actually a general contractor, and this is just a side business since I have to have housecleaners on my sites anyway."

That caught my attention. I have a project that I've been wanting done, and it's been really hard to get bids. I've been ignored or ghosted by six or seven contractors. One guy finally had some followthrough, but it's been three months of waiting while he very slowly puts prices together. It's not a large job, but it'll be probably $20,000 based on what I've seen so far, so it's not negligible for a small contractor.

So I think, "I'll see if this guy wants to bid on it and I can walk him through the job right now. It'll be really easy." I get up and go to the living room where he's talking at my wife. I figured as soon as he stopped talking, I'd mention the project and gauge his interest.