ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Chiefs Jets get screwed on TD call. Overturned to a touchback. (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=310832)

dj56dt58 10-15-2017 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amnorix (Post 13155131)
:shrug: He obviously lost control of the ball before he got into the end zone.

http://image.masslive.com/home/mass-...e9fbf3dd11.jpg


https://img.washingtonpost.com/wp-ap...0940.jpg&w=480

lol, care to screen shot the end of the play when he had possession and touched the pylon?

dj56dt58 10-15-2017 11:03 PM

The call itself makes no ****ing sense at all. If that happens mid field it's not a fumble. The ball never hit the ground. ****ing stupid

petegz28 10-15-2017 11:10 PM

looked to me like he regained control before he hit the ground

Chief Pagan 10-15-2017 11:13 PM

The play is over when he touches the pylon. I don't think he had control at that point.


I think they got the call correct.

I've disliked the rule about a fumble through the end zone being a touchback.

Discuss Thrower 10-15-2017 11:19 PM

Here's how the decision flowchart should flow:

+) Does the offensive player have clear possession of the ball at the point in which the ball breaks the plane of the goal line?

If he had clear possession: touchdown. If not, review to see if there was a definitive moment where the offensive player neither had clear possession nor broke the plane.

+) Does the offensive player receive the ball via a pass thrown through the plane of the end zone and does he clearly have control of the ball through the point he has established himself in the end zone with the touch of both feet to the ground?

If yes: touchdown; if no: review to see if the ball was clearly not under the receiver' control at the point when both of his feet make contact with the ground of the end zone.

Nzoner 10-15-2017 11:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TribalElder (Post 13150178)
How much did that call impact the betting lines

It really depends on when you bet because the line was Pats -9.5 and closed at 9 and the Over/Under opened at 47 and closed at 48.5

Basically if you had the spread and the O/U at 47 you were happy as hell to see that call made in "hopes" that the pats would go and score.As it worked out that didn't happen but it at least made for entertaining tv.

Frazod 10-15-2017 11:34 PM

I think the bigger issue here is does this get called for anybody else but the Cheatriots?

When was the last time another team was a beneficiary of the tuck rule?

:shake:

Imon Yourside 10-15-2017 11:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Easy 6 (Post 13150182)
It was bobbled, but he had it under control before hitting the pylon

Correct, there is zero evidence of anything else to overturn it.

RippedmyFlesh 10-15-2017 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chief Pagan (Post 13155376)

I've disliked the rule about a fumble through the end zone being a touchback.

I hate that rule too hard to think of alternative.

Nzoner 10-15-2017 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frazod (Post 13155402)
I think the bigger issue here is does this get called for anybody else but the Cheatriots?

When was the last time another team was a beneficiary of the tuck rule?

:shake:

They did away the tuck rule a few years ago

JD10367 10-16-2017 02:26 AM

I hope the Patriots beat the Chiefs in the AFCCG on a play just like this, so I can watch the reactions here.

carlos3652 10-16-2017 06:12 AM

Guys, it was the correct call. By the time he has possession again, the player was out of bounds. Had he had control prior to going out of bounds it would have been ruled a td.

You can’t fumble the ball forward. If you do, you get the ball back where you fumble, that is the case anywhere on the field except the end zone.

This call happens from time to time inside the end zone. Its a turnover. I don’t mind the rule... and if you gave me a choice between changing this or what’s considered a catch in the end zone (megatron’s catch or even Harris’ catch last night) i would want them to change that first

BigRichard 10-16-2017 06:51 AM

When he hits the pylon he has control of the ball as far as I can tell unless someone has a better angle? If it was ruled a touchdown on the field that should not have been overruled if that is all they had to see.

007 10-16-2017 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amnorix (Post 13155131)
:shrug: He obviously lost control of the ball before he got into the end zone.

http://image.masslive.com/home/mass-...e9fbf3dd11.jpg


https://img.washingtonpost.com/wp-ap...0940.jpg&w=480

The problem here is that there is no 100% clear evidence that he didn't regain control before going out of bounds.

007 10-16-2017 06:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by carlos3652 (Post 13155605)
Guys, it was the correct call. By the time he has possession again, the player was out of bounds. Had he had control prior to going out of bounds it would have been ruled a td.

You can’t fumble the ball forward. If you do, you get the ball back where you fumble, that is the case anywhere on the field except the end zone.

This call happens from time to time inside the end zone. Its a turnover. I don’t mind the rule... and if you gave me a choice between changing this or what’s considered a catch in the end zone (megatron’s catch or even Harris’ catch last night) i would want them to change that first

There is not 100% evidence of that part.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.