ChiefsPlanet

ChiefsPlanet (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/index.php)
-   Nzoner's Game Room (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Chiefs Let's talk about Harris's catch. (https://chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=310866)

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reerun_KC (Post 13155924)
Ball broke the plane of the endzone.


2 feet down Ball in 2 hands in endzone = catch, play over.

It's not debatable unless NFL.


Yeah, this is clearly, absolutely and unequivocably NOT the rule in the NFL.

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cochise (Post 13155941)
Exactly how can an offensive player have possession of the football in the end zone and then fumble?


He can't. Once the catch is complete, the play is a TD. if the catch isn't complete, then it's an incomplete pass.

Buckweath 10-16-2017 11:39 AM

Clearly not a catch in my view. Not even worth a challenge.

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ThaVirus (Post 13156129)
LMAO Oh, man. Honestly, I still think that's a TD.

As soon as that ball hits his hands, he has CONTROL of it. At that point, he just has to establish POSSESSION by getting both feet down, which he does when that right foot taps the ground. He clearly maintains possession throughout that catch.

The DB rips it out after what should have already been called a TD.


That's not the rule.

Let me change the situation -- let's say that play happened at the five yard line, and in the immediate aftermath of when you say the play is complete, the defender rips the ball out, which squirts away and another Steeler picks it up. Under your rules, that would be a fumble.

You ok with that?

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by O.city (Post 13156200)
The more I watch it the more it looks like he does have possession and two feet down and it's in a controlled state


Yes, but not relevant if a half-second later the ball is ripped out. See my prior question about whether you'd be ok if it was ruled a catch/fumble if that exact sequence happens at, say, the 5 yard line and the ball is pulled out and "recovered" by the Steelers.

Eleazar 10-16-2017 11:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nbarone007 (Post 13156290)
Not challenging this play is dumb. Its an extremely controversial play that you want the refs to determine the outcome of after a second look...

In a class Reid sequence of about four stupid decisions in a row, not taking the points ranks at the top, but not challenging this is #2, for sure.

I don't believe it was a catch, but with the randomness of officiating and the way the offense and defense had played all day, we had as good a chance of getting that call as we did of coming back and winning a game in which we were down by 2 scores late.

Even if you lose a time out, it would take a two-possession comeback to make that time out even potentially matter. The chance of losing that time out costing us the game was smaller than the chance of winning the challenge.

Reid more or less gambled the game with 10 minutes to go and at least 1 or 2 more possessions and a pocketful of time outs to work with.

Classic example of why he won't win the big one.

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FishingRod (Post 13156281)
So is this correct? if it is ruled a score it gets automatically reviewed but if ruled not a score the coach has to challenge?


All scoring plays are automatically reviewed, as are turnovers and maybe certain other plays.

As it was not called a TD, yes, Andy would have had to have challenged to try to get it reversed.

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gblowfish (Post 13156300)
If it's Brady to Gronk, it's a TD. Smith to Harris, not so much...


Not trying to be a dick, but honestly, that's not a TD by any ref under the NFL rules as in effect for the last, whatever, quite a few years now. If Megatron could get screwed by it, so would Gronk.

O.city 10-16-2017 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amnorix (Post 13156334)
Yes, but not relevant if a half-second later the ball is ripped out. See my prior question about whether you'd be ok if it was ruled a catch/fumble if that exact sequence happens at, say, the 5 yard line and the ball is pulled out and "recovered" by the Steelers.

If he has 2 feet down and controlled the ball in the endzone the play is dead. You said so yourself

So yeah, had this happened in the field of play by that, it would be a fumble

But today's catch no catch rule is about as clear as mud

Amnorix 10-16-2017 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by O.city (Post 13156366)
If he has 2 feet down and controlled the ball in the endzone the play is dead. You said so yourself

So yeah, had this happened in the field of play by that, it would be a fumble

But today's catch no catch rule is about as clear as mud

Agreed that the rule isn't easy to understand, explain or apply, but it definitely isn't just two feet down and control of the ball. You have to "complete the act" of the catch which includes "surviving the ground" if you go to the ground.

gblowfish 10-16-2017 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amnorix (Post 13156344)
Not trying to be a dick, but honestly, that's not a TD by any ref under the NFL rules as in effect for the last, whatever, quite a few years now. If Megatron could get screwed by it, so would Gronk.

Not trying to be a dick either, but heaven forbid the Pats get any help from the refs.....

Like the tuck rule....

Warrick 10-16-2017 12:00 PM

Looks like a catch to me with a firm grasp of the ball all the way through & two feet down before being stripped. How long does a player need to hold onto the ball before someone can knock it out at any point?

ThaVirus 10-16-2017 12:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amnorix (Post 13156379)
Agreed that the rule isn't easy to understand, explain or apply, but it definitely isn't just two feet down and control of the ball. You have to "complete the act" of the catch which includes "surviving the ground" if you go to the ground.


He didn’t go to the ground, though.

He caught the ball, established both feet (actually tapped three feet total), and never went to the ground.

Amnorix 10-16-2017 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gblowfish (Post 13156382)
Not trying to be a dick either, but heaven forbid the Pats get any help from the refs.....

Like the tuck rule....


That was a stupid ass rule. Glad they changed it. But it was correctly applied. Dumb ass rule though.

Almost as dumb as the dumb ass one the Pats got the benefit of yesterday from teh Jets (fumble through end zone awards possession to defense on "touchback").

11Chiefs 10-16-2017 12:08 PM

Two hands and two feet down with clear control in the end zone is and should be by rule a touchdown. It was controlled possession beyond the plane of the end zone... end of story.

LOL if it was really that simple... right!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.