View Single Post
Old 10-15-2017, 09:03 PM   #13
Amnorix Amnorix is offline
In BB I trust
 
Amnorix's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boston, Mass.
Casino cash: $10029808
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjchieffan View Post
I don't understand how it was a touchback. Whether he temporarily lost control or not, he regained control. How is it a touchback? He didn't fumble.

So it's a crap rule. If an offensive player fumbles INTO or THROUGH the end zone, then the ball is awarded to the DEFENSE (even though they didn't recover it) and it's a touchback at the 20. I think the call here was correct, but agree it's a crap rule. If the defense doesn't recover it in the end zone, then I think the offense shoudl get the ball at the one.


To avoid all doubt -- the ruling here is that the player lost control of the ball before he entered the end zone (which he clearly did) and did not regain control of the ball until AFTER the ball had crossed the plane, and therefore ball goes to the defense on a touchback.

Again, it helped the Pats today, but it's a crap rule.
__________________
"I love signature blocks on the Internet. I get to put whatever the hell I want in quotes, pick a pretend author, and bang, it's like he really said it." George Washington
Posts: 43,125
Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.Amnorix is obviously part of the inner Circle.
Thumbs Up 0 Thumbs Down 1     Reply With Quote