10-15-2017, 09:13 PM
|
#15
|
Wasted away again...
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $3520000
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnorix
So it's a crap rule. If an offensive player fumbles INTO or THROUGH the end zone, then the ball is awarded to the DEFENSE (even though they didn't recover it) and it's a touchback at the 20. I think the call here was correct, but agree it's a crap rule. If the defense doesn't recover it in the end zone, then I think the offense shoudl get the ball at the one.
To avoid all doubt -- the ruling here is that the player lost control of the ball before he entered the end zone (which he clearly did) and did not regain control of the ball until AFTER the ball had crossed the plane, and therefore ball goes to the defense on a touchback.
Again, it helped the Pats today, but it's a crap rule.
|
Of course you do. 
__________________
If you shed a tear for me, please make it a tear of joy.
-Joe Tracy (Nzoner)
.
.
|
Posts: 52,238
|
|