PDA

View Full Version : Alright Here's Your Chance To Live Up To your Reputation!

philfree
07-10-2001, 02:21 PM
I just bought my first smoker and I'm looking for some tips on smoking pork butts, turkeys and who knows what. Being that K.C. is known for its b-b-q and such I figure I can get some pretty good advice. Thanks in advance! But keep in mind I'm comparing notes with my friends who live in N. Bama so your reputation is at stake!

PhilFree:cool:

58Forever
07-10-2001, 02:41 PM
All I know is "long and slow" usually means you get good taste and tender meat.....

Now if you want to know about smoking other substances I might be able to help you....:cool:

Phobia
07-10-2001, 03:09 PM
I'm a novice, but here are some real and uh, sarcastic tips:

1. After you have your fire strong, place some of the wood of your choice into the coals, but only after soaking it in water for 24 hours. This allows it to burn more slowly and it produces more smoke flavor than unsoaked wood. Do not soak ALL your wood - only a few, select pieces.

2. Inject your meat with your marinade of choice.

3. Longer, low heat is MUCH better than the alternative.

4. Start fire first, THEN place meat inside - you have no idea how much meat I've eaten that tastes like lighter fluid.

5. Since you are planning in advance by soaking your wood, marinate your meat for at least 24 hours as well.

6. Many people will season & marinate their meat and sear it either on a hot fire or a pan to seal that flavor in. This is fine for grilling, but it also seals flavor OUT - not exactly desirable for smoking.

7. If you are planning to smoke a turkey - don't. Fried turkey in peanut oil is 10 times better anyway.....

8. The smoke will rarely penetrate THICK slabs of meat. If you have more than 2.5", slice it thinner.

seclark
07-10-2001, 03:20 PM
kphobia...you said "soak your wood"...heheheheh
sec
beer makes the best chip soaker.
jam sliced apples in the turkey.